Open Distance and E-Learning Department

About ODEL Department

Section 38 of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act 2001as amended provides for membership as follows:

(a) the Chairperson of the University Council;

(b) the vice-Chairperson of the University Council;

(c) the Vice-Chancellor of the Public University;

(d) the Deputy Vice-Chancellors;

(e) a representative of a sector relevant to the University depending on its objectives and mission, appointed by the relevant body in that sector;

(f) one member of the District Council elected by the District Council in whose jurisdiction the Public University is situated;

(g) a member of the Convocation elected by the Convocation;

(h) two members of the University Senate elected by Senate;

(i) two members of the Academic staff elected by the Academic Staff Association of the Public University;

(j) a Senior member of the Administrative Staff elected by Senior Administrative Staff;

(k) a member of the National Union of Education Institutions; Support Staff elected by the branch in that University;

(l) two students of the University, one of whom shall be a woman appointed by the Students Union;

(m) three members appointed by a Minister from the public ;

(n) a representative of the Ministry responsible for Finance;

(o) a representative of the Ministry responsible for Higher Education;

(p) two representatives of the constituent colleges, schools and institutes elected by the Chairpersons of the governing councils from among themselves;

(q) two representatives of persons with disabilities , one elected by members of staff who are persons with disabilities and another by National Organizations of persons with disabilities;

The Office of University Secretary is the secretariat to University Council.


Staff Members

We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings


  • Data Privacy Sharing

Data Privacy Sharing